Can I Permanently Delete My Etsy Account?

The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) gives individuals in the EU more transparency, rights, and control over the way their personal information is used. It also provides rights for data deletion, access, and portability.

As an Etsy member, you have the option to permanently close and delete your account. Permanently deleting your Etsy account can’t be undone. 

If you don’t want your account to be permanently closed and deleted, you may consider:

  • Closing your Etsy account: When you close your Etsy account, your account becomes inactive, and you have the option to reopen it.
  • Closing your Etsy shop: If you want to close your shop and continue buying on Etsy, you can close your shop instead of your entire Etsy account. You can reopen your shop at any time.
  • Unsubscribing from Etsy emails: You can keep your account open and change your email subscription settings. When you unsubscribe, you won’t receive marketing emails, but you will continue to receive emails such as when you make a transaction, we update our Terms of Use, or when required by law.

How to permanently delete your Etsy account

Before you permanently delete your Etsy account, check that:

To permanently close and delete your Etsy account:

  1. On Etsy.com, click You.
  2. Click Account settings.
  3. Click Privacy.
  4. Click Begin the process under Permanently close and delete your Etsy account.
  5. If your account doesn’t have any open issues like overdue payments, unfulfilled orders, unresolved cases, or policy violations, you’ll receive an email with instructions to complete your deletion request.

For security and verification purposes, you must make the deletion request while logged into the Etsy account you’d like to close and delete.

The permanent deletion process may take up to two weeks. Depending on which of our services you've used (such as whether you've made purchases or sales on Etsy), we may be required to retain certain information for legal, regulatory, tax, security, or compliance reasons for a limited period of time, after which it will be deleted. This deletion is permanent and your account can't be reinstated. Learn more in our Privacy Policy.

Was this article helpful?

Still have questions?

Contact support