How to Update Your Account Privacy Settings

We understand that you may want to keep your Etsy activity private. You can adjust your feed's privacy settings to fit your desired level of participation.

How to clear your recently viewed items

Your recently viewed items are only visible to you, but you can clear them at any time. To clear your recently viewed items:

  1. Sign in to Etsy.com.
  2. Click the Your Account icon.
  3. Click Account settings.
  4. Click Privacy.
  5. Click Clear recently viewed listings.

Favorites, public vs. private

You can control whether your favorited items and shops are public or private on your Favorites page.

If your favorites are public: Members who follow you will be able to see your new favorite items and shops in their feeds.

If your favorites are private: Your favorites won't appear in other members' feeds, even if they follow you.

How to make your favorite lists private

  1. Sign in to Etsy.com.
  2. Click the Favorites icon.
  3. Click on a Favorites List, like Items I Love or a custom list you created.
  4. Click Edit in the upper right corner under your cart icon. Here you can choose Only I can see this list.

How to make your favorite shops private

  1. Go to your Favorites page.
  2. Click the Shops tab.
  3. Click Edit on the right and choose Only I can see my favorite shops.

How to block a member

You can block someone who's following you from seeing your actions in their feed.

To block someone: Visit their profile page and click the Block link at the bottom left. Etsy won't notify the member.

To unblock a member: Visit their profile page and click Unblock toward the bottom left.

Once you unblock a member, they'll have to follow you again to see updates from you in their feed.

How to change your email notifications

By default, Etsy sends a notification when you have a new follower.

If you don't want to receive these emails:

  1. Sign in to Etsy.com.
  2. Click the Your Account icon.
  3. Click Account settings.
  4. Click Emails.
  5. Uncheck the emails you don't want to receive.
  6. Click Save settings.

You can update your account settings, including your email address, notification preferences, and mailing address.

Was this article helpful?

Still have questions?

Contact support