Etsy monitors order levels for sellers and may put your shop on pause to help you focus on fulfilling your open orders, communicating with buyers, and resolving open cases. It's up to you to decide how to manage your shop within Etsy’s policies, but we’ll reach out to you if we believe your shop has received a potentially unmanageable volume of orders.
Etsy may take this step if we observe a higher than normal rate of the following:
- Unfulfilled orders
- Orders shipped after their processing time
Only Etsy can restore your shop if it’s been paused. To have your shop restored by Etsy, you’ll need to:
- Resolve any open cases your shop has received
- Refund or provide proof of shipping for all overdue orders
- Communicate with buyers about their order statuses
While your shop is temporarily on pause
- A notice will appear at the top of your shop page saying that you're taking a short break.
- Your shop will still appear if someone searches for your exact shop name, but will not appear as an auto-suggestion in search or other shopping tools.
- Your items won’t appear in Etsy search.
- Other Etsy members who visit your shop can sign up to be notified by email of your return.
- You’ll have access to your orders, cases, and Messages.
- You can issue refunds, cancel orders, and print Etsy Shipping Labels.
- You can still make edits to current listings.
- You can list new items and save them as drafts. You won’t be charged a listing fee until the listing is actually published once your shop is unpaused.
- If you have auto-renew turned on for listings in your shop, these listings will expire and you will not be charged. Once your shop is unpaused, you’ll have the opportunity to renew these listings.
If you have an Etsy Plus subscription, you won’t be charged subscription fees for the duration of the time your shop is paused. Once your shop is unpaused, you will be billed accordingly on your next billing cycle date. You will regain access to Etsy Plus on that billing date.
- If your Etsy shop is paused, your Pattern site will also be temporarily put on pause. We’ll display an overlay on your Pattern site. The overlay will show your vacation message, and cannot be closed by a buyer. You can edit this message in your Vacation Mode settings.
- Buyers will also see a Contact Seller option in the overlay, where they can send a message to you.
- You won’t be charged subscription fees for the duration of the time your shop is paused. Once your shop is unpaused, you will be billed accordingly on your next billing cycle date. You will regain access to Pattern on that billing date.
How to restore your shop
You'll be notified that your shop is paused via email. After you have successfully shipped or refunded orders and resolved your open cases, please let our team know by replying to that notification. We will confirm once your shop has been fully restored.