How to Close Your Etsy Account

To close your Etsy account:

  1. On Etsy.com, click You.
  2. Click Account settings.
  3. Scroll down to the Close Your Account section.
  4. Select a reason for leaving Etsy and add an optional comment.
  5. Click Close Account.

Closing your account won't free up your email address, username, or shop name for re-use on a new account. Learn how to re-use your email address on a new account.

Make sure to leave any reviews for recent orders before closing your account. You can leave reviews by going to your Purchases and reviews.

Learn more about Etsy’s review system.

I want to permanently delete my Etsy account

You can permanently delete your Etsy account from your Privacy settings. Scroll down to Permanently close and delete your Etsy account and click Begin the process

I don’t see the Close Account button

If you don't see the Close Account button, you may have an amount due on your statement or an open case reported in your shop. As soon as you settle your payment account and/or resolve your open cases, you'll be able to close your account.

How to open a new account with the same email address

If you plan to open a new account on Etsy with the same email address, you can change the email address on file with your current account before closing it. This way, you can use the email address again on your new account.

To change your email address on file:

  1. On Etsy.com, click You.
  2. Click Account settings.
  3. Scroll down to the Email section.
  4. Enter your new email address and your current password.
  5. Click Change email.

After you change your email address, you can close your account. Then you can open a new account with your preferred email address.

We’re sad to see you go! You can close your account on Etsy.com. You have the option to reopen your account.

If you’re an Etsy seller, you may need to pay your balance before you close your account.

If you want to permanently delete your account, we ask that you do this on Etsy.com. If you permanently delete your account, you can't reopen it. From your Privacy settings, scroll down to Permanently close and delete your Etsy account and click Begin the process

Did this help?
Why didn’t this article help you? (select all that apply, required question)

Thanks for your feedback!

Still have questions?

Contact support