You have the option to permanently close and delete your Etsy account, in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation and the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA).
If you’d like to take a break from Etsy, or hear from us less often, consider these alternatives before making the decision to permanently delete your account:
- Close your Etsy account. Your account becomes inactive, and you have the option to reopen it.
- Close your Etsy shop: You can still use your account to make purchases, and you can reopen your shop at any time.
- Unsubscribe from Etsy emails: Keep your account open and change your email subscription settings. When you unsubscribe, you won’t receive marketing emails, but you’ll continue to receive emails when:
- you make a transaction;
- when required by law.
How to permanently delete your Etsy account
Before you permanently delete your Etsy account, make sure that you check the following:
- You have no amount due in your payment account
- You have fulfilled all your orders
- You have resolved all your cases
- You have saved any information you need for tax or record keeping purposes
- You will not want to use the account's email address in another Etsy account.
- All cases you opened are resolved
- You have no additional cases you want to open, since you won’t have access to the case system after you close your account
- You have saved any information you need for your records
It may be possible to reuse your email address on a new Etsy account. To do that, change the email address on your Etsy account before you submit your deletion request.
To permanently close and delete your Etsy account:
- Go to Etsy.com and sign in to the account that you’d like to close and delete.
- In Account settings, select Privacy.
- Choose Request deletion of your data under Permanently close and delete your Etsy account.
- Check your email for a message with instructions for completing your deletion request.
After you submit the deletion request
Once open issues are resolved, the permanent deletion process begins and can take around two weeks.
Depending on which of our services you've used (such as whether you've made purchases or sales on Etsy) or if your account violated our policies, we may be required to retain certain information for legal, regulatory, tax, security, or compliance reasons for a limited period of time, after which it will be deleted.